ICEE website header logo
Indiana Council for Economic Education Facebook Page   Link to Economic Education Community on Learning Connection   Twitter

What's New?

Remembering Mike Watts, Purdue University Center for Economic Education

Bookmark and Share

December 2014


Mikeís obituary can be found at

A memorial service will take place on Friday, December 19, 2014, at Soller-Baker Funeral Chapel in West Lafayette, IN, 1184 Sagamore Pkwy W. Visitation with the family will be from 2:00-4:00 p.m., followed by a service at 4:00.

Memorial contributions may be made to the Michael W. Watts Scholarship for Excellence in Economics in the Krannert School of Management at Purdue University. Checks may be made payable to Purdue Foundation and sent to the Dauch Alumni Center, 403 West Wood Street, West Lafayette, IN, 47907. Please indicate the Watts Scholarship for Excellence in Economics in the memo field. Or to the Book Cycle program, providing books to low-income children at Lafayette area child care centers by sending checks made out to Bauer Family Resources (Book Cycle in memo line) to Mary Springer, Treasurer, 4686 State Road 28 E., Lafayette, 47909.

It is with great sadness that the I inform you that Mike Watts, Director of the Purdue University Center for Economic Education, passed away unexpectedly on Friday, December 5, 2014.

This is a tremendous loss for the local, state, national and international economic education communities. Mike and the Purdue Center was recently recognized with the Peter V. Harrington Center Award this past September at the ICEE Annual Awards Program.

Mikeís contributions to economics education (research and teaching) are numerous and shaped the field as we know it. His work has greatly influenced thousands of university and K-12 economic educators. He will be missed.

Funeral arrangements are pending. We will share via e-mail and this website with details and where condolences may be sent as they become available.

Our thoughts and prayers go out to his wife Deirdre, his family, as well as his colleagues and friends at Purdue and throughout the economic education network.

[ Purdue Remembers Mike Watts ]

[ Memorial website ]

Econ Camp 2014 Highlights!

Bookmark and Share

December 2014 The Indiana Council for Economic Education (ICEE) held it's annual Econ Camp for high school teachers of economics on October 14-15 at beautiful Camp Tecumseh near Brookston, Indiana. Econ Camp teachers enjoyed an engaging experience where they learned about initiatives in economic education, obtained resources, listened to experts in the field, and participated in activities developed for classroom implementation.

The event kicked off on Tuesday night with a welcoming dinner followed by a session on Agriculture, Nutrition and Health: An Economic Perspective presented by Dr. Gerald Shively, Professor and Associate Head of the Department of Agricultural Economics at Purdue University. The evening ended with símores and discussions of economics around an "indoor campfire" due to rainy conditions outside. The program continued bright and early on Wednesday beginning with Joshua Hall who presented Homer Economicus: Using the Simpsons to Teach Economics. Wednesday also offered sessions and a group discussion facilitated by ICEE staff and additional guest speakers including Amy Willis, who presented Using EconTalk and EconTalk Extras in the Classroom, and Purdue Agricultural Economists, Dr. Juan Sesmero, who presented Climate Change and the Agriculture-Water Interface.

For details on Econ Camp, go to